Fourth Ceres Cup ends on a high note

ceres cup festival

Another tournament for the books. The 4th Ceres Cup ended on a high last May 21 at the North Football field with a record number of participants from all over the country. Players and Coaches who reached their respective semifinals went home littered with medals in what is considered the biggest football festival in the region.

The remaining age categories were completed Sunday night with winners coming from all over. Don Bosco Technical College Cebu A won the Mixed 10 division over Montevista United with Reyne Acher Amora declared the Most Valuable Player. Tamasak FC of Ilo-ilo lorded the Boys 12 division, winning over the Negros Selection and securing MVP honors with Kent De La Pena.

San Carlos City emerged as victors in the female divisions with San Carlos City winning the the Girls 16 edition over Miriam College and Magnificas United edging Jaro FC. Milky Ann Sandigan was the MVP for the girls division while Isabelle Carmona was the Golden Ball winner for the Ladies.

Koronadal City ran away with the Boys 16 Championship after hurdling Kidz United of Tacoloban in the final. Koronadal’s Kenery Guerhem was adjudged the best player for that division. A hardfought Boys 14 final saw Barotac Nuevo winning over penalties against Negros Occidental with Barotac’s Kent Brian Valen as the MVP.

The Mens Open division saw Alumni United beating Ceres-La Salle 2-0 in the final. The team composed of Alumni footballers, mostly from University of St. La Salle overcame their younger counterparts for the biggest suprise of the tournament. Former National Team Goalkeeper Archie Bayquin was awarded the Most Valuable Player award in the division.

A total of 465 teams participated in the event with teams coming from all over the country. Outside of Negros Island, teams from Zamboanga, Iligan, Davao, Koronadal, Leyte, Masbate, Manila, Iloilo, Cebu, and even from far-away Basilan were present for the now-annual tournament.

“I am very thankful and humbled by the turnout of the 4th Ceres Cup,” said Mr. Nicolas Golez, Ceres-Negros Club Administrator. “In behalf of Mr. Leo Rey Yanson, the President and Owner of Ceres-Negros, we thank you for the overwhelming support that we received especially from the LGUs and the Philippine football community. Hopefully, we can do this again with the same festive atmosphere.”

Photo from Stephen Tan

  • Nanette Abuan May 22, 2017 at 4:47 PM

    Just a correction on the team name of the Women’s Open Champion for Ceres Cup 2017. The correct team name is MAGNIFICAS UNITED. Thank you.

Comments are closed.